Day 1:

When first working in the studio, Lee had planned for us to have a go at every role we could, we took turns with who was on which role and tried to make sure that within the time we had in the studio, everyone would be able to experience each role and how it feels to work in the studio.

The first day in the studio was mainly getting used to using the equipment and finding out what we wanted to work on the most- what we found easiest/hardest and what we enjoyed the most. We tended to get practice shots and the rehearsals done just so that we could get a turn on each of the roles and also get some practice work done too.

These roles included:

  • Vision mixer
  • Sound op and assistant
  • Lighting op
  • Director
  • Floor manager
  • Camera op (x3)
  • Talent (x2)

I was able to experience working on each of the roles (the roles that I couldn’t do on Day 1, I was able to do on Day 2) and enjoyed finding out what it was actually like to work in a TV studio production. The main roles I got on the first day was lighting op, camera operating and being the floor manager, doing to camera op wasn’t very challenging as it didn’t require many changes throughout, I was only told to change the camera shot a few times throughout the whole shot. I enjoyed being the floor manager as you’re able to communicate with the director but also organise everyone on the floor (as I am an organised person anyway I found that I enjoyed this the most on the first day.) I found being the lighting op quite boring as you were only needed at the start and end of the production (as they wanted the lighting the same throughout) therefore I enjoyed this the least- on the first day.