This week was very important for me and the crew to get the edit done for our film so at the start of the week I made sure that my crew knew what we needed to do for the rest of the week.

From last week we already had a rough cut/edit so this week was about perfecting our film, so one of the few things left to do was to finish off the script that I started last week. I finished my script at the start of the week to make sure that me and my sound designer were able to record the voice over. On Tuesday morning I perfected my script and did a few run through’s with my sound designer to make sure that what I was saying made sense and match what is happening in the video. After practising a few times I then went into the audio booth that we booked out and recorded the voice over. We had a few problems with the merantz kit, we got given headphones that weren’t working properly and so this delayed us slightly as we couldn’t hear whether or not the audio was recording properly, so we then had to get another pair of headphones to use. Once we adjusted the audio levels and practised getting the sound perfect, everything else ran smoothly and we got the voice over recorded really quickly and it sounded good too. We then took the recordings and put them on to Final Cut Pro to edit.

On Wednesday Giz (sound) started editing the sound clips and organised which ones we were able to use and which ones didn’t sound that good etc. She then cut the sound clips to the music and organised them to fit what was shown in the videos. Georgia didn’t really have much involvement at this part of the edit as it wasn’t her job to do so she was mainly focused on research and how she could edit the clips further to make the film look better.

On Thursday Georgia looked through the footage and even further colour corrected the footage that we had, Giz also finished off the audio and organised it further. The video edit was almost finished so me and the crew spoke about what we could improve on to make the film better and made a few slight changes to the film to make it better overall.

We planned to make sure that we finished our edit was roughly finished for Friday. Once we did this we then knew that we could present our film to the class and get feedback from everyone else in the class.

On Friday morning we made a few tweaks (like colour correcting more shots, perfecting audio etc) to make sure that we were ready to present. Once we were finished preparing our video we then presented our edit to the class. We then asked opinions from a few class mates to get an idea of what they each thought about our film. I also created a questionnaire for each person to fill in to make sure that we got a range of feedback to look at which then would help us improve our work.

In the spare time that we had left over we made a few changes to our film edit based on the comments we got from the class. This week I worked a lot with my crew to get the edit of our project perfect, I learnt even more about editing and overall I am happy with how the edit is looking and look forward to improving my edit to a higher standard.

Next week I will finish off the edit by making a few small changes based on the feedback and start post production and my evaluation.