Exiting films and distribution:
I took a look into images and short clips that reflect what I imagine my film to look like. Below are some examples of shots that are similar to ones I want to capture myself. The colours I want to show in my film are going to represent the personal view that I have upon the experience I have at the Peaks for example because my film is about the thoughts and feelings I have whilst at the Peaks. The colours will represent my feelings and thoughts. If I have a great time there and love my experience I will communicate this to my cinematographer so that I can show this in my shots with bright colours etc. In contrast to this if I didn’t enjoy my experience at the Peaks I would use dull colours to show this.

Screen Shot 2016-04-22 at 11.06.19

These films have been distributed through many websites, mainly social media for example YouTube. I think that this will be similar to my own film as I will be posting my film on social media so that it is easily accessible for my target audience. Similarly to these clips I want to show my emotion through the editing too, I will edit my shots to a fast pace and also add music to match this- this will also be negotiated with my sound technician as they will have  big impact with this certain part of the project.

How to direct:
“Create a good script. A good script can make even a mediocre director look good, so choose wisely. You can also write a script yourself, if that’s something you enjoy and are good at. Structure is key to a good story. A good script shows rather than tells. You want your audience to guess at what is happening based on body language of the actors, what they’re wearing, what they do, and how they say the lines.” I will make sure that I create a script for my voiceover to make sure that it tells the story of the character well and clearly.

“Give specific instructions. This is for the actors. If you’ve explained the subtext to your actors and your vision for the film, there shouldn’t be too much of a problem of them doing what they need to do in their scenes, but it is important that you give specific instructions. On your shot list write down specific camera critical things you are going to want your actors to do.” I will make sure that I communicate to my crew and give them the clear instructions that they need to be able to understand what is needed to be done within the production.

“Know the different types of shots and camera angles. When you’re directing you’re going to need to know the different kinds of shots and camera angles and camera movements so that you know how to shoot each scene and what you’re trying to get from each scene. Different angles and types of shots change the feel of a scene.” I will make sure that I plan out what angles I am wanting for my film and know exactly what I want to capture, I will then communicate and negotiate with my cinematographer to make sure they understand what will go in the film and for them to come up with their own ideas too.

“Rehearse and set up the shot. For each shot you’ll need to know the focal length, the camera placement, the actors’ marks (where they need to stand, etc), which lenses to use and the movement of the camera. You’ll set up the shot, using all these different considerations, with your cinematographer. Discuss with them the lighting and the camerawork until the shot is ready to be taken.” I will make sure that when shooting we will practice the shots a few times before recording to make sure that the shots are perfect, this will also make it easier when looking back at the footage as there will be fewer mistakes and shots we need to delete.

“Review the take. Reviewing the take on the video monitor right away lets you consider how to make the scene better, how close the scene comes to your original idea. Then you’ll repeat the scene until it holds up to your scrutiny. This is very different from reviewing takes in the editing room later on. There you have the time, clarity, and perspective to see every single thing you could have done to make that scene better.” I will make sure that me and my cinematographer look at each shot after recording each one to make sure that they look good and look exactly how we wanted them too.

http://www.wikihow.com/Direct-a-Movie

Looking at this website has helped me a lot with planning out what I will do to create my film, I will make sure that I talk to my crew about the shots I am wanting to create etc and make sure that they understand what I want to create within my film. As shown above I will create a script for my voice over, after researching this it has helped me become more understanding of what I need to do for my film to run smoothly and be more organised. I will make sure that I communicate with my crew to make sure that they understand the storyline that I am trying to achieve in my film. After doing this research I have learnt that I need to organise and plan out exactly how I want my film and what I want my crew to do to make sure that the film runs how I want it to and turns out the way I want.

How to write a documentary
“You must work backwards. It is the only way to write a documentary script. Once you have collected your research, data, and interviews, only then can you write the script. It would be impossible to conceive what an interviewer is going to say and how that ties into your message. Once you have all of the facts and materials, then you can sit down and write the script and voice-overs.” I will make sure that I plan out my script, I will talk to my crew about what we each want within the film and then I will plan out the whole film and organise schedules etc.

“Be thorough with your writing and voice-overs. Writing and rewriting parts of the script is part of the process as you continue to define your message and refine the story. If you are using a narrator, you may have to readjust to your narrator’s style. Sometimes while you are fact checking, there may be some discrepancies so you want to make there that everything that you are presenting to the viewer is accurate and this is reflected in the rewriting process.” As I will be doing the voice-over I will be reading from the script that I create so I will need to make sure that everything makes sense before we start recording my audio.

“Documentaries aren’t an observation of humanity, but rather an opening door into our nature, into what drives us, what makes us fill with joy and weep with sorrow. Documentaries are real, with real people and dealing with real issues that are powerful and hit us at our core. Let your writing reflect those deep, moving messages and capture your audience emotionally.” I will make sure that I reflect the thoughts and feelings I have when writing the script to be able to communicate this to my audience.

https://www.nyfa.edu/student-resources/how-to-write-a-documentary-script/

Looking at this website has helped me more with understanding how I will write my script to communicate with the audience, it has also made me realise that I need to plan out the script and make sure that the script make sense before doing the voiceover. I will plan out my script in advance to make sure that it is written well and communicates my thoughts and feelings to the audience, how I want it to. Overall this website has helped me think more about how accurate my script needs to be in order for my voice over to turn out well, and how planned out the script needs to be for my film to work well.