This week I am hoping to finish or nearly finish my post-production, even though this week is half term I will be going into college to edit. I will also research where I could distribute my film and what I could do with my film once I have finished my edit.

Last week I spent the end of the week looking through my footage and so this week I knew what sort of answers I got my interviews and I had a chance to think about how I wanted to plot out my edit. I started my key wording each clip I had from the interviews, this allowed me to group together the all of the interviews and compare the answers that each subject gave.  I think that doing this is a really useful way of being able to organise the clips together as they’re talking about the same or similar subjects. I didn’t know how to do this before and so I learnt how to, to allow my edit to be more organised.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 14.05.19 Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 14.04.23.png

I synchronised all of my interviews to the sound recordings I got, this made the interviews sound a lot better and a lot clearer. The audio I recorded was really good and I think that this is because of the practice I had when being the sound op on Dylan’s film. Once I synced my sound and visuals together I then created multicam clips for each interview. Creating multicam clips allowed me to look at the different angles at the same time, I was able to see which one looked best whilst she was talking and I was also able to click on the angle I wanted and it would plot that one in for me in my edit. I found this extremely useful because it helped me be quicker with editing in the different shot angles, I didn’t need to look through my footage to find the other angles because it would already put them in for me. I spent the beginning of the week doing this for all of my interviews; syncing sound and creating multicam clips for each one. Even though this took a while to do for each interview I think that it has benefited me in editing because its saved me time looking through the different shots.Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 14.12.53.png

Once I had finished this for each interview I then started to add clips into my storyline and started to create more of an organised edit than I had before. I firstly started to got the Camerados section edited how I wanted it, I knew that I wanted this section seperate from the other interviews as it is showing more positivity and talking about the places people can go etc, rather than talking about the effects bullying has. I created a short edit of the Camerados interviews and I added in some cutaway shots that matched to what Emma (camerados volunteer) was talking about too, I am really happy with how this looks at the moment and I believe that its got a good amount of information in it as well.

Once I had a short edit of the Camerados section together I then needed to focus on getting a rough edit of the first years interviews and Amy’s interview together. I firstly started off by looking through the keywords I had done and checked which ones gave good answers and which ones may not be needed. I also looked at which answers linked together and how I could put the different answers together in my edit to make it work well. Looking through all of the key words I had made not only made my edit more organised but it saved time as well, I was able to find out where each person had spoken about a certain topic and what answers they gave and this made it really easy when plotting the interviews into my edit.

At the end of the week I put the edit onto my laptop so that I could do some work from home over the weekend. I added to my edit throughout the weekend and planned out what else needed to go into it so that I knew what needed to be done next week. I also decided to send my contributor a quick message to thank him for the contribution and I also asked him how he would like the DVD sending to him (as this was part of the rewards), I asked this because sending him the final film over as a file would be a quicker and easier way for me and him as well.

This week I have learnt new editing skills and developed my editing as a whole, I have been able to create an organised edit and next week I will improve upon this by finishing my edit and distributing my final film.