This week I will focus on coming up with more ideas for my film (as I will now have to start from scratch), I will plan out what ideas I want to go into my film and start my pre-production if I can, at the end of the week. Last week I had conducted a lot of planning to film at Firth Park and got turned down to film there. As I am pushed for time I will try to come up with ideas that I know I will be able to film and hopefully they will be just as effective once my film is done.

I decided to create some minds maps to help me generate more ideas for my film, I firstly started off by doing one for the type of interviews I could use in my film. I came up with some ideas about what type of interviews I could use and which ones I have thought would look good to use in my film. From this mind map I was able to jot down any of my initial ideas and build upon them, once I had some good ideas wrote down I decided to ask a few of my family and friends for their opinions and whether they could give me any suggestions. One of which said “I think that it would be really interesting to talk to the ambassadors if you can, I think that it will give you a really good opportunity to talk to young people and show their opinions in your film” another said “doing a focus group style interview in your film would look good if you’re trying to show a lot of people’s different opinions on what bullying is” asking for these opinions helped me decide what ideas will look and work best in my film. Even though I am confident with the ideas I have come up with for interviews, I am going to conduct some more research into what type of interviews are the most common to use in documentaries, this will help me decide what interview types I will use. Below is my finished mind map.

18042775_2131727870387045_855396561_o.jpg

As my interviews mind map was successful I decided to do one to help me get more ideas for the types of cutaways I could use and how I could get statistics into my film in different ways. One of my initial ideas was to use a statistic shot in a classroom and ask the class a question then add in the statistic in (in the edit) after the class showed their reactions to a question I’d ask. Even though Firth Park pulled out of filming I still wrote this down to develop ideas from this one. I wrote down a lot of my ideas and again asked for people’s opinions on this, one person said “using school as a place to add in statistics is a good idea, I like the idea of using someone writing the statistics in a school book, I think that will look really good” I am hoping to add in statistics in a different way to just editing it in after I have filmed so having people agree with my ideas to do this has made me a lot more confident about doing this. This story board has allowed me to develop my ideas and ask people for their thoughts and opinions on them, I am a lot more confident on my ideas and have a better idea of what I am hoping to add into my film. Once I finished my mind map I did some further research about statistics and which statistics I want to go into my film. Below is my final mind map.

18111340_2131727903720375_2078276322_o.jpg
Generating ideas and doing more research has given me more knowledge on documentaries and what should go into them and it has allowed me to get people’s opinions on my ideas, which has made me more confident in my initial ideas and overall in my film.

As I spent a lot of my time creating mind maps and doing further research, next week I will do further planning, sorting out what exactly is going to go into my film and what I will do now Firth Park have pulled out, I will start new preproduction and add to my research.