I knew this week was going to be one of the most important weeks for the crew so at the very start of the week I started off my going through the footage with the rest of the crew. We watched all the clips that we collected from our trip to the Peaks, we went through each one deleting ones that we wouldn’t be able to use in our final project. Some clips were out of focus or slightly too short etc and so we couldn’t use them in our final edit, this wasn’t much of a problem because we had recorded a lot of footage and we made sure that we recorded the shots a few times just in case there was a problem with the shot.

Once we sorted which clips we were able to use in our edit, we started by putting all of the clips onto the main storyline, this allowed me to organise the clips further. I put the clips into order by the locations of which we visited first for example the first place we went was Mam Tor and so I put all of the clips from this location together to make it easier to edit them. After talking to my crew about the shots that we each wanted to put into the project we started the edit.

I wanted to edit my film to match the music (rhythmic) so I couldn’t start to edit the clips properly however I did chose my favourite parts from each video that we took. I cropped and cut parts out of the shots to make sure that once we found the correct music we could get straight on with the final edit.

Further on in the week me and Giz (sound designer) talked about the type of music to put in our project. We knew that we needed to find a song that was copyright free and also fit well to what was in our shots. After searching for the right song we found a song that we both liked and it was copyright free too. Once we knew we had found the right song we put it into our project, I then knew that I could start rhythmically start editing my clips.

Me and my cinematographer (Georgia) sat and looked through the clips again to think more about which clips should go where, I then sat and cropped the clips to fit the beat of the music. After cropping the clips I tweaked a few videos to make them fit the music better and also I changed a few clips around the make the order of clips look better and more complimentary.

Our final edit was coming along great, the only thing we need to do with the clips was to colour correct and make the clips look more appealing. Georgia looked at the clips and tweaked a few to make the colour balance better, I then did some further editing after this to make sure that each clip looked perfect and how we all wanted them to look.

At the end of the week I was happy with how my edit was coming along, the only thing left for me to do was to sort of the voice over for my film. I made sure that there was nothing else left for me to edit on each of the clips and then I started writing the script for me to do my voiceover next week. I then finished this off at the weekend in my spare time so that I knew that we could get straight on with recording on Monday/ Tuesday.

This week went pretty smoothly as the crew knew exactly what needed to be done and we al worked together to get the edit done. I have learnt more about editing as I had to look at sound editing with my sound designer and I also looked at the cinematographer work too.

I am happy with how this week has gone, it has been hard work to make sure that the edit gets done and to a good standard however me and the crew are pleased with how the project is looking.

Next week I will record the audio to my voice over and finish the edit.