To find out who will be the demographic for my film, I conducted some primary research by creating my own survey using TypeForms. This gave me a good idea of who will watch my film and it allowed me to get to know my audience better. I created my own survey and posted it on social media sites such as Facebook and Twitter and asked other people who had completed my survey to share my questionnaire too. I made sure that I posted my questionnaire online so that a range of people would see it, I knew a lot of people were going to see the post and so I knew I would get a good amount of responses. I had quite a few responses that gave me good answers, this allowed me to think more about what type of people I will be targeting when creating my film. Looking at my results I can see that the majority of the people were females and aged in the under 18 category. I can also tell that a lot of people who answered have been effected by bullying and/or known someone who has been effected bullying at some time in their life. This shows me that my film will be relatable for many people and hopefully a lot of people will watch my film because of these results. Getting these results allowed me to gain more knowledge about my target audience that I wasn’t 100% sure on before, I now know exactly what type of person is going to watch my film and the type of reaction I am going to get on my social media once my film is complete.

Here are some of the questions that were asked in the survey:

I believe that there is an audience for my idea, this is because 25 out of 35 people in my survey said they would watch my film and I have had a lot of engagement on my social media pages. There are a lot of places that people watch documentaries; online, on TV and in the cinema. Netflix has become huge for their own movies and documentaries in the past few years and I believe that people who are into watch films and docs on that type of screening, would be interested in my film. I know that a lot of people also visit documentary film festivals so from this I know that there are many people who enjoy watching docs and would be interested in mine, this is proven in my survey; 28/35 people who answered my survey said that they enjoy Documentary films and enjoy watching them. I also think that my film will appeal to my target audience, I will keep the editing at a fast pace to keep my audience engaged and I will add in music that fits the style of my film. From the audience survey I understand that people think that ‘watching a documentary on bullying will raise awareness on bullying’, specifically 31 out of 35 agree to this, I am really glad about this statistic as this is what I want my film to be, I hope that my film will appeal to a range of people whilst also raising awareness for bullying. Personally, I think it is very clear what genre my film would fit into, I will have used a range of codes and conventions throughout my idea and I believe it will be appealing to documentarians.