Centre Name and Number: The Sheffield College, 36510
Candidate Name: Hannah Walker
Candidate Number: 82934
Pathway: Creative Media – Level 3 UAL – TV, Film and Corporate Production
Project Title: ‘We Are People Not Victims’

Section 1: Rationale

Throughout this course I have learnt a lot of skills and received achievements for my work including the ‘Most improved student’ award. I received a distinction in my first year of work and hope to develop everything I have learnt so far to allow me to reach for a grade of a distinction again in my second year. From knowing barely anything (before starting this course) about TV and film production, I am now very confident with filming and have developed skills in all practical areas. This includes: improving my work with camera set up, developing my camera shooting skills, learning how to set up 3 point lighting, how to set up an effective interview with lighting and multiway cameras, how to use sound equipment effectively to create a clear audio recording. As well as constantly learning and developing my skills in the practical side of the course, I have learnt a lot more about how to stay organised and how I will need to set out my work in higher education, which will help me a lot in the future. I have also developed my skills in the editing side of the course, I spent a lot of time on the proof of concept editing to make the interviews show emotion and connect with the audience, this is one of the main things I want to develop when working on my film as I know this will be one of the biggest parts of creating emotion in my film. I hope that by making this film I will develop in this area. I will need to use all of the skills I have learnt so far when creating my film and so I will be practicing and developing my skills before and throughout the film to make sure my work is the best it can be. I believe my film will reach out to a lot of people who have been effected by bullying, there are many people who don’t know what to do if they’re being bullied or if they know someone who has been. The DitchTheLabel charity conducted research that proved that “1.5 million young people (50%) have been bullied within the past year” (2016), this tells me that a lot of people will understand and engage with my film. I chose to do a documentary as it is one of my favourite genres of film and I also wanted to do a documentary about something I am passionate about, I have had my own experiences with bullying and so it became a big part of my life when I was young and this is why I wanted to create a documentary to raise awareness for this subject.

Section 2: Project Concept 

My final project is going to be a short documentary film about bullying and the effects it has on people’s lives, which I will make in the allocated timescale in the next few weeks.I will make use of tutorial and peer feedback throughout the week as I will have 5 lessons with my peers and will be able to talk to them and get 1 to 1 feedback straight from my tutor, which I will then be able to improve my work using their comments. As well as doing a lot of work in college and getting feedback from tutors throughout the week, I will conduct research in my spare time to make sure I am doing thorough research and independent study. I will interview a range of people who have been effected by bullying and share their real life experiences and stories, I am hoping that this will raise awareness and will also reach out to people who might be getting bullied. I might offer charities and schools the chance to use my documentary to raise awareness and educate people on the effects of bullying. My bullying documentary will be unique because there aren’t many docs on bullying already but also I will be using a range of techniques including multi way cameras, I will use a range of contributors (range of ages and genders) and I will plan my doc to have ann the interviews shot on one day and the rest of the shots will be filmed after the interviews. I will set up interviews using 3 point lighting and multiway cameras, I am hoping to shoot all interviews on one day to make sure that they’re all consistent. The lighting is a big part of the mood, I will be using a blue light filter to shine a small amount of colour onto the subject, I chose to do this because the colour blue is often associated with bullying and is also used a lot in bullying charities. The multiway camera set up will allow me to capture a range of shots whilst interviewing and will help me later on when editing, I will be able to create a mood and set the tone of my film through the use of editing and how I edit all the cuts together. I will use close up shots when the subject is talking about more emotional personal things and use the medium shot throughout when the subject is talking about themselves etc. The overall documentary is going to be about how bullying effects people’s lives and what people can do if they’re being bullied or know someone who is being bullied. I will film a range of cutaway shots that will be edited to go over the top of the interviews and I will spend time with each subject and film them doing everyday things or things that match what they’re talking about in the interviews. The interviews will be set up in the TV studio however the cutaways will be in everyday locations or places that each person (subject) goes on a daily basis.

Section 3: Evaluation 

To reflect on my production I will keep a blog on what has happened/ what I am doing for my project, how it is all going and what I have planned. I will make sure that this is updated regularly every week and is clear on what part of my project I am working on. I will comment on how I am feeling about my production and also what is going well/not so well. I believe that this will be the easiest way for me to get my point across clearly and easily too. I will also talk about anything that has gone wrong and how it has or will be fixed and what I will be doing in the next upcoming week. I will ask for feedback each week so that I know how I can develop and I will make comments of this feedback in my reflective journals. Once the film is complete I will present to my peers and classmates and get feedback, I will then reflect upon this again.

Action Plan: action-plan