This week and next week I am off college and so I will focus on planning my film, research and pre-production, this will allow me to be prepared for when I am back at college after the break.

At the start of this week, I spent a lot of my time organising the pre-production I had previously organised for the shooting at Firth Park, I made sure that it was done properly and I was prepared for filming if any changes were made. I emailed the teachers at Firth Park who were helping with my film and asked them if there were anyway I could film only cutaway shots. Staying organised with the pre-production will allow me to start filming straight away if they change their minds about letting me film at their school.

To make sure I was fully prepared for any possible filming at Firth Park, I carried on with pre-production, this way I would be able to film straight away if they gave me permission to film cutaways rather than not having anything ready. I did my AV script, call sheets and shot list (shown below). I have included planning for the interviews and cutaways.

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 15.15.32.png
Doing my AV script made me think more in detail about what will go into each scene in my documentary, I have planned out what sound will be used, where I will have music, who and where my interviews will take place and how I want my opening and ending shot to look. Doing all of this in my AV script has allowed me to visualise exactly what my final film is going to look like.

Creating my call sheets for the days I had planned to shoot on (at Firth Park) made me plan out exactly what my cast and crew will need to know if we get the chance to film there. I will give these out to all of my crew before we start filming so that they know all of the details about the shoot and what is expected from each day.

The last part of the pre-production was creating a shot list of all the shots I want in my film, I will take this on set with me when filming and I will make sure that the crew are aware of this sheet or have their own copies so that they know exactly what shots need filming on each shooting day.

Doing all of this pre-production has allowed me to not only be more prepared for filming but it has improved my organisation skills and it has given me the chance to develop my ideas, create new ideas and plan out exactly what I want to achieve from my film. Next week I will plan out more ideas for my film incase Firth Park turn down me doing cutaways, I will decide what I want to go into my film and add to/change pre-production.