Research social media campaigns

I will be putting my final film online for people to be able to watch it, to find out more about which ones will suit my film, I have researched existing social media sites and which have the best results.

There are a lot of social media sites that I can put my work on for example I could create: A Facebook Page or Event – I can post a lot of things on here including: status’, videos, pictures, event countdowns, send invitations to people to join an event page.Ā A Twitter page/account: I can upload videos and pictures with a small caption (I would probably put trailers and teasers on this as you can’t put a lot of information on it.)Ā Instagram account: I can put images on with a caption and I would put teasers on this as you can’t put long videos on that are more than a minute long. Youtube: I would definitely put my work on here as you can find a range of other films that are similar to mine on here so I would have some competition however I know that my film will definitely get views on Youtube.

What is working?

Facebook

Ā Ā Advantages:

  • When youā€™re designing your page, Facebook lets you know how many people are likely to see it and how many people do end up liking your page. This is good for knowing how many people are interested in your film and allows you to find out who else you can invite by looking at their Facebook friends.
  • Once someone Likes your page, this thenĀ shows up on theĀ Facebook news feeds for all their friends to see. And because people tend to trust recommendations from their friends, they are more likely to click Like too.
  • You can use imagesĀ – you can choose images that suit your target audience and you could add posters and images that promotes your film.
  • You can add videos – you can choose from your own videos, what you want to upload and you don’t have a maximum length of video to stop you from uploading long videos either. Also on videos you can see how many likes, comments, views and shares you get.
  • A range of people use Facebook including a range of ages, genders and interests. This will allow you to get your film viewed by a huge mix of people.

Disadvantages:Ā 

  • Itā€™s difficult to catch peopleā€™s attentionĀ ā€“ People are so busy on Facebook that they often donā€™t pay any attention to the ads, so your ad may get ignored (that’s if you do pay for an advertisement.)
  • To get an advertisement on Facebook to get more attention from users, it costs a lot of money pay for.
  • Not everyone is on Facebook and people who may be in your target audience may end up missing out on trailers and teasers etc if they don’t have an account with Facebook.

Twitter

Advantages:

  • Twitter is now the most used social media site out there beating both Facebook and Youtube, there are millions of active users worldwide.
  • There are a range of people who use Twitter, it is very known for a lot of the LGBT community to use it too, so you are guaranteed to get a range of viewers etc when you post on Twitter.
  • You can follow people you know and also celebrities and famous people- being able to do both will help get your work out there because people you know will share your work but also you can target other people who have followed, for example ‘Steven Spielberg’ whoĀ you can tell are interested in film.
  • You can upload both images and videos so you can keep your audience intrigued with small teasers and trailers and also posters and sneak peaks.

Disadvantages:

  • You have a maximum of 140 characters per tweet so you cant really add a lot of detail about your film unless you added a link to a website etc that included more information.
  • If you tweet a lot of links it will be likely that other users may think you’re spam or maybe hacked- making it less likely for people to actually click the links you put up.
  • Using hashtags may backfire if you’re trying to promote your work, people may try to embarrass you by hash tagging your trendĀ inappropriatelyĀ and trying to embarrass you. This may end up making you and your work look bad and may make it look like your work isn’t serious or professional.
  • If you don’t use twitter a lot you may not know how to target your audience properly so it could end up looking unprofessional and too casual if not done properly.

Instagram

Advantages:

  • According to M, Marko “Instagram users are 15 times more engaged than Facebook users, and 20 times more engaged than Twitter users.” so you are guaranteed to get some sort of interaction with the users.
  • You can post videos and images directly from your phone. So you can choose from a range of personal footage to upload to your page.
  • On Instagram just before uploading anything to your page, you can choose whether to put the same exact post on Facebook, Twitter and Tumblr- this is good if you’re wanting to link your film pages together.
  • You can add filters and stickers to your images and videos to make it more visually appealing to the audience you are targeting.
  • You can add hashtags to each post to allow it to get trending and get more likes etc.

Disadvantages:

  • Because Instagram is mainly about images and sharing images with other people, if you’re post doesn’t have a very appealing photo or video people will just scroll past it without even reading your caption.
  • Instagram is only an iPhone and Android app. Ā If you have Windows mobile, Blackberry etcĀ it wonā€™t work. Ā That means you wonā€™t be reaching all your target audience as not everyone will be able to see your Instagram account.
  • The maximum length of video you can upload is only 60 seconds so to show a trailer etc you would have to put a small teaser up and put in a link, rather than have it on your page.

Youtube

Advantages:

  • You can easily reach your target audience because there are 1 billion active users world wide.
  • Because you are putting your work on a huge video sharing site you are guaranteed to get people who are interested in film etc watching your videos.
  • Google and Youtube are linked, so everything that you put on Youtube can be found through Google search- so you know that your work can be found by millions of people online.
  • You can add tags to your video, for example if I added the tag ‘college’ to my film if someone put ‘college’ into the search engine it will come up in the results.
  • You can look at your Youtube Analytics, this allows you to see your average likes, dislikes, views, subscribers, and money you can make from your uploads.
  • You can get direct feedback from comments under your videos.

Disadvantages:

  • Because of the tags in your video you are likely to lose your audience when it comes up with ‘suggested videos’. Those videos may look more appealing to the audience compared to yours.
  • As well as being able to get good comments on your work you can receive a lot of bad comments and feedback- this may look your work look bad and also put people of watching.
  • Unless you advertise your work on a lot of sites and make sure people know that your work is on Youtube, people may not be able to find your video because of the amount of videos that are on Youtube.

I have decided that I will put my work on each of the social media sites above, I am thinking about creating new accounts on each one so that my work is separated from my private accounts.

Existing Campaigns

As part of my research I spent some time looking at some existing campaigns that other people (Documentarians) have made before. This helped me get an idea of what sort of thing I can do to create awareness for my film.

  1. The first place I looked was Facebook, I looked on various Facebook pages specifically for Documentary Films. Here is one of the pages I looked at:Ā https://www.facebook.com/FightChurchFilm/?fref=ts

 

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-57-47

The first thing I noticed on this Facebook page was the bright right coloured text that’s on the cover photo at the top of the page. As shown above, the colours are bright and have contrast with the background of the image which makes it stand out even more- this makes it eye-catching and the first thing that draws the audience’s in. The image shows a man with what looks like some sort of boxing or fighting gear on, this links to the text on the right of the image and so it gives the audience a good idea of what the film is going to be about. Seeing this made me think about what I should put on my page, I think I will do something similar to this to make sure that it is clear what my film is about as soon as someone see’s my page. I will probably have some writing with the title of my film on and an image of someone who I will interview in my film.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-58-30

I had a look at a lot of the posts that was on the page to get an idea of what sort of thing I could put on mine, here is a post (above) which talks about where the film will be playing and information of what time it is etc. Although I won’t be putting my film in for any screenings or for any festivals, I think that posting about the film to keep the audience up to date with what’s happening, will be something that I will do a lot with my project.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-58-09

Here is a screenshot I took of the images that were posted to the page. All images relate back to the film they are promoting and give the audience more information on the film. On my page I will be adding a lot of images of maybe sneak peak shots from the film and posters of the film, to make the audience more intrigued and interested in what I am producing.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-57-58

I took this screenshot to look more at what sort of information the director put on their Facebook page, from what is on the ‘About’ section there is only a website link and information about what genre the film is and also who the director is. I think that I want to put more information on mine, I was thinking about putting links on to my other social network site pages to make sure that everyone who sees my Facebook pageĀ knows of the other pages that I will have made.

When looking at the Facebook page I had a look at the details on the page to see if I could find any links to other websites.Ā Although there was no link to a crowd funding site such as Indiegogo or Kickstarter, I found other links to their Twitter page(s) and a iTunes page where you can purchase the film.

ITUNES:Ā https://itunes.apple.com/us/movie/fight-church/id907275378

One of the most used links on the Facebook page was the iTunes link- on nearly every post which promoted the film, this was used including the posts with trailers and posters etc. This allowed people to purchase the film on iTunesĀ straight away, after I watched the trailer there was the link for me to click if I wanted to buy it, I think this worked really well because if someone wanted to buy the film they wouldn’t have to go searching around on different sites or having to personally ask the director as to where they can purchase the film. Another good thing about this is that if someone hadn’t already liked/followed the page, the post may come up on someone’s newsfeed due to their friends liking the post and this would let them also see straight away how to purchase the film and what the film is about.

YOUTUBE:

Another website/ account I found was the Youtube account which had teasers and trailers like the one above.Ā I couldn’t find this link on the Facebook page, so I had to search for it for myself, after doing this I found more than one account that advertised the film which also showed the film trailers and teasers. I didn’t end up finding an account purely based on the ‘Fight Church’ film so I wasn’t sure if there was an account that was purely around the film, so I could only find filmmaker accounts which had other films on as well.

Screen Shot 2016-11-01 at 16.15.08.png

TWITTER:Ā https://twitter.com/jjbreezie

This link is the page I found on Twitter which shows a tweet which was on twitter advertising the project, however this link wasn’t connected to the actual Facebook page so I had to search Twitter to find anything about the film – which wasn’t very helpful and it wasn’t in anyway linked to the Facebook page. There were a few different Twitter accounts that posted about the film so I was unsure which account was the ‘official’ or main account for the film, I think that this made it very confusing for the audience to find out more information.

The Facebook page didn’t link to any other social media accounts, to find other pages which related to the film I had to look for them myself which was a bit of a struggle as there were more than one account on each site (excluding iTunes). It made it more confusing to find out more about the film and didn’t make the film look very professional.Ā I will make sure that all of my pages and accounts link together so that they’re easy to find and look more professional.

Overall from this page, I noticed that a lot of the posts were short teasers, posters of the film with information of where to buy the film and links to other websites to allow you know more about the film in general. This page generated a good amount of likes (over 3000), which I think was due to the amount of posts that were put up, the posts kept the audience up to date all the time so it let the audience know exactly what was happing with the film throughout the production. From this research I now have a better idea of what I want on my page. I will make sure that the cover of my page is bright and eye-catching to lure the audience in, I will then make sure that my page is updated a lot throughout the production to keep the audience up to date, another thing I will do is add teasers and trailers to make my audience more intrigued.

2. After looking at Facebook I then looked at Kickstarter and a few pages on there, I found quite a few that were for Documentary films, here is one that I liked from Kickstarter:Ā https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/anthony-baxter/youve-been-trumped-too?ref=category

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-49-23screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-50-27

The first thing I noticed on this page was the huge bold numbers of the ‘goal’ that the directors are trying to achieve. I was then intrigued by the video to the left of the ‘goal’. After watching the video it told me about what the video was about and why they’re wanting to make the film – it also gave an insight of the film and some clips of it. Going down the page also lead to a description of the video and a more detailed explanation, this allowed the audience to read more about the film if they’re interested in it and get more knowledge about what will be produced if the goal is met. The ‘our plan’ section talks more about what sort of thing the audience could expect from the film if it is made. From just the top half of this page has given me a lot of ideas of what I could do to get crowd funding and what I want my page to look like if I do get crowd funding. I would want to set the top of my page up the same as this one with the video next to the goal- I think that this will look very appealing but also work well as it will draw the audience in.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-52-45screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-52-19screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-51-48

Another thing that I really liked about this page was the rewards that they promised the audience if they contributed to the goal. As shown above it tells you what to expect to get back from the film-makers if you put money towards the production- the bigger the amount of money the bigger the reward you would get from them. I think that I might do this on my page to make the audience feel more involved with the production, I think that it works really well.

From this Kickstarter page there was a link for me to look at the Facebook page, the page that the link took me to gave me further information about the film and also showed more trailers, teasers and events linked to the film. After looking at the Facebook page I couldn’t really find any other social media accounts that were linked to the page so I searched Twitter to see if there was an account on there. I found a account which had a lot of information on- the posts were similar to the ones on the Facebook page however there were a hash tag which was used on various tweets, to make the film trend on Twitter and get more awareness.

TWITTER:Ā https://twitter.com/antbaxter?lang=en
FACE BOOK PAGE:Ā https://www.facebook.com/youvebeentrumpedtoo/

After finding these two pages I then looked on Youtube to see if there was any accounts on there which were focused more on teasers and trailers etc. I found a few accounts which there were only a few different things on each one, I looked at the one with the most viewers and subscribers on because it was more popular than the other accounts. This account had a lot of different teasers on and it was constantlyĀ updated with new videos- I thought that this was really good as it made the audience more engaged with the film and told the audience exactly what is happening with the film.

YOUTUBE:Ā https://www.youtube.com/user/youvebeentrumped/feed

Overall on this page, I noticed that it gave the audience a lot of information on what the film is going to be about if it is made, it also has a teaser trailer to give the audience a good idea of what they should expect the film to look like. In general the page is packed with information and tells the audience a lot of ways that they can help and contribute to the production. From looking at this it has made me realise that I will need to create a page like this to get funding for my film, I will create a page in the similar layout of this. I will make sure that the biggest thing at the top of the page is the goal to let the audience know of how much money I am wanting to help my film be produced. It has also made me think more about the rewards that I could give my audience if they choose to help out with money contributions – I will decided on these closer to the time of making the page.

3. After looking on Kickstarter I noticed that it was quite similar to Indiegogo and so I spent some time on there too just to look at the differences between them. Here is one of the pages on Kickstarter that I looked at:Ā https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/passing-a-short-documentary–4#/

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-33-39
Similar to the Kickstarter page, it has the title of the production at the top of the page as well as the ‘goal’ and a short clip next to it. This let the audience know how muchĀ money the film makers are needing and gives the audience a glance of what the film makers can create. As I said above for the Kickstarter website I am thinking of doing something similar to this, I would prefer for the goal to be bigger and bolder at the top like the Kickstarter website however I am hoping to have a layout similar to this one.

screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-33-55screen-shot-2016-10-26-at-12-34-27

Further down the page it went into detail of what the film is about, why they want the film to be made, why the audience should contribute and what weĀ should expect from the film. I think that I will put in a lot of detail on my crowd funding site to make sure that my audience know how their money and contributions will help my production and final film.

I then noticed the sidebar on the right of the page, it talks about what sort of rewards you should expect if you contribute money for the production, to reach the set goal. Similarly to the Kickstarter website I think that I might do this on my crowd funding site, this will reward the audience for helping me actually produce my film.

After looking at this Kickstarter page I found a link to a Facebook page that also promoted the film, I had a look around the page and found that there was quite a lot of information on it about the film and also about where the film would be showing. The page is updated quite a lot and includes lots of trailers and posters of the film. Here is the link to the page that I found:
FACE BOOK:Ā https://www.facebook.com/passingdocumentary?ref=aymt_homepage_panel

Another link I found on the page was on one of the posts, the link took me to a post from a Vimeo account made by the director/producer of the film. The account included a range of trailers and teasers, which allowed the audience to see what the film was going to be like, the Kickstarter included a trailer for the audience to watch however the Vimeo account had a range of different videos for the audience to watch.

VIMEO:Ā https://vimeo.com/user3646762

The Kickstarter page did have some links to other pages however there weren’t that many other social media accounts for me to look at, the pages that were connected allowed me to find out more information about the film and let me see other trailers etc that weren’t originally on the Kickstarter page.

Overall on this page, I noticed that this page was very similar to the Kickstarter page, they both have small differences but they’re very similar with the layout and side bars etc. In general this website page has a lot of information on it about the film and production, what the director wants to achieve and how this will happen if the goal is met and allows the audience to develop their knowledge about the film before they contribute.Ā From looking at this it has made me think more about the layout of my page, I might put some pictures and maybe more than one clip of the film to make it more visually appealing to the audience. But overall it has made me set all my ideas in place (that I have spoke about above and from the Kickstarter page) and so I am now confident about joining one of these sites and starting my crowd funding.

From looking at these crowd funding sites and campaigns, it has helped me think more about what I should do with my film and how I can get my film noticed online. I will create my own page either on Kickstarter or Indiegogo and I will make sure that I set up an account for a Facebook Page, Twitter account, Youtube and Instagram account. I will add links to all of the accounts on each page so that it is easy to find my other accounts from each one. Each page will have different things on that link to my film for example I will focus my Youtube account purely around the trailers and teasers and my Instagram will focus more on posters and sneak peak scenes from the film.

Research crowd funding sites

The next part of my research was to look at what existing crowd funding sites are out there, I firstly searched for the top 10 best crowd funding sites and I chose to look at the top 3: Kickstarter, Indiegogo and Crowdfunder(.co.uk).

The first website I looked at was Kickstarter- it is the most well known crowd funding site and is known for it high percentage of positive outcomes on their site. The first thing I noticed about the site was how easy it is to use and how simple it is, it is easy to find your way around the site as everything on the main page is labelled and easy to understand. One thing I really liked about this site is that it allowed you to look at other peoples work even if you have signed up. The sign up button was eye-catching and easy to find too. Once I clicked on the sign up button it took me to a small form that was quick to do and it then allowed me to log straight into Ā my account.
screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-31-44screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-33-05Screen Shot 2016-11-13 at 16.36.08.png

I took a look around the site to get used to the layout and set up of the site- this wasn’t hard because the layout of the site was easy and I found it quite easy to navigate around the website. I looked at a the ‘explore’ section which took me to peoples projects before it showed any work it came up with a section which you could chose which genre film you are interested in, I filtered the results to look at existing Documentary campaigns.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-41-30screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-42-03

After looking at a few different pages, I realised that all of the campaigns had the same arrangement. I liked the way that the goal is seen straight away on the page, it is bold and it is one of the first things you see when you look at the page- I like this and will use this on my campaign to make it eye-catching and it will allow my audience to know straight away what my goal is. Looking further down the page, there was a short description of what the directors plan on making- short summary of what the film is about, a longer description about the film and why it should be made and what the purpose of the film is. I like the way that the page is set up, the short summary of the film is at the top of the page underneath the video so it lets the viewer know more about the film before even watching any trailers. If the audience want to find out more about the film they can scroll down and read a more detailed description of the film and what the directors purpose is for the film. I will write a short summary of my film that will appear at the top of the screen alongside the trailer, I think that this looks really good on the page but also works well too.

Another thing I like about the Kickstarter page is where the rewards are set out on the page, the rewards for the donations go down the side of the page next to where all the information is/description of the film is. I think this works really well because if you’re looking at the detailed description, you’re more likely to be thinking about donating even if its a small amount. So having the rewards at the side makes you more interested in donating as it allows you to see what you would get if you did.screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-42-17Screenshot Kickstarter Description.PNGscreen-shot-2016-11-13-at-16-42-52

Overall, I think this site works really well and I really like the layout of the page- I think this is the best thing about the site, and soĀ I am hoping to use this website, it is my favourite so far and I want my campaign to be set out the same as the pages I have seen on this site.

The next site I looked at was Indiegogo, I had heard a lot about this site before and I know a lot of people have used it in the past however I had never been on the site. The first thing I noticed when I went on the website was how similar it was to kick starter, the page was set out the same with the plain easy to use menu bar and the same ‘Sign Up’ and ‘Log In’ buttons. I like this as it is easy to use however it is basically the exact same as Kickstarter.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-14-14screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-14-22

I then clicked on the ‘Explore’ button which took me to a page which allowed me to choose different genres and which type of campaigns I wanted to look at, this was also very similar to the Kickstarter page. I chose to look at documentaries, I filtered the results to show only doc campaigns and I looked at a few of the pages that came up.Ā  The layout of the campaign was slightly different to the Kickstarter pages: the goal isn’t as big, bold and eye-catching and title isn’t as eye-catching either. There isn’t a small summary, however there is a trailer which looks quite good at the top of the page as it grabs the attention of the audience.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-15-17screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-15-32

There is a long description aboutĀ the film and why the film should be made- similar to the Kickstarter website, I like this and I will do this in my campaign as I think that it will allow my audience to get to know my film personally. Another thing that worked well on the page was the rewards side bar going down the side of the page, this worked really well in my opinion as it makes the audience think about the benefits that they would get if they donated.
screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-15-42screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-16-16

Overall this site works well and is very easy to use, there is a few things on the page which I don’t really like for example: the size of the text for the title and goal-Ā I think this would work better if it was bigger and bolder. However the site is easy to navigate around and isn’t complicated alsoĀ a lot of people would be able to find my campaign easily. I don’t think I will use this site because it is basically the same as Kickstarter but without some features that I like (text size).

Another site I looked at was Crowdfunder.co.uk, similarly to the previous two sites the layout is the same plain layout with simple buttons, it is easy to navigate around and it allows you to find other peoples work easily.Ā 
screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-19-48screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-22-45screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-23-19

I looked through a range of documentary posts and also I looked at films that weren’t similar to my film too. I looked at the layout of the post and similarly to the other two sites it has an eye-catching ‘goal’ or ‘target’ which draws the audience in and also has an imagine/video that gives more information about the film they’re wanting to achieve. It then has a description and shows what rewards you can get if you donate money too.
screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-24-16screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-24-36screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-17-24-27

One thing I noticed about crowd funder that was different to the other sites was the way that the payments worked: all the other sites were ‘all or nothing’ which means if you don’t raise the amount that you wanted you won’t get any of the donations and the money will go back to the people who donated. However this site allows you to keep what you raise which I thought was a really good idea and I would want to use this for my project.

Planning my crowd funding site

To start planning my crowd funding site I firstly looked at what sort of things are usually Kickstarter and Indiegogo pages as they were the most popular crowd funding sites I found. Ā  The most important things I found on each page were: a project image, catchy title, short description of the film, a goal, a deadline for when you want to reach your goal, rewards for donating, short video, more detailed description, profile ‘about me’ so the audience get more information about the director, social media links. I will be adding in all of these to my page as I think they’re very important to make the page stand out from the rest. After planning out what sort of things I would need to buy (food and travel for cast and crew, props) I then decided on a budget: Ā£100. I decided to put Ā£100 as my goal because I don’t need that much money for my production however if I did get Ā£100 I would be able to provide more for my cast and crew and also I would be able to buy props that I could use in my shots (not needed but would make my production look better.) The time scale I want to put is up until the start of February because I will have started to plan out all of my production and will need to know whether or not I have the money to help with my production.

After looking at a range of pages, I have planned out which incentives I want to use on my site: Ā£5 donation- personal thank you message, Ā£10 donation- signed poster and thank you message, Ā£20Ā donation- signed poster, name in the credits and personal message and personal thank you message, Ā£30Ā donation- signed exclusive DVD, name in the credits and Ā personal thank you message, Ā£50Ā donation- name in the credits,Ā signed exclusive DVD, signed poster and personal thank you message, Ā£100 donation- WHOLE PACKAGE: name in the credits, signed poster and exclusive DVD, personal thank you message and shout out on all of my social media pages!

Distributing my film

Sheffield Doc Fest: Sheffield Doc Fest isĀ a film festival that showcases peoples work within the documentary genre, from across the world. It is open to anyone, so anyone can submit their work to be shown and win awards for their work. I have picked this film festival because it is local and fits the same genre as what I am working on, the prices for the entry are affordable and crowdfunding will help with this as well. The cost for me to submit my film would depend on the date: it would cost Ā£26 if I submit before 7th Feb 2017, the latest I can submit is 23rd Feb 2017 which would cost Ā£30- both reasonable and accessible amounts to pay. I am thinking about submitting my work to this festival as it has always interested me and it is suitable for me and my film however I may have to wait until the 2018 submissions depending on when my work is finished. I am hoping to enter this either Ā for the 2017 or 2018 submissions.

LondonĀ Documentary Film Festival:Ā LondonĀ Documentary Film FestivalĀ is the UKā€™s largest documentary festival, which allows people from all over the world to submit their work.Ā Every entry submitted is considered including feature length and short films, alsoĀ first time and established filmmakers are all welcome to submit their work. I chose this festival because it is the biggest doc fest in the UK, the festival is purely based around documentary films which would mean my work would be compared to other docs and not every other genre (which I think would be a lot harder to get appreciation for my work.) The price to submit my work isn’t too expensive too; it costs 30 Euro for my short film, which even though isn’t in pounds its still cheap and I can always get money changed into euros to enter, so its very affordable and easy. I am thinking about entering this festival next year.

Oxford International Film Festival:Ā Oxford International Film Festival is a film festival that Ā allows all genres of film (including docs) to submit and they also show both shorts and features too. One thing I really like about this festival is that there is a section which only shows student films, I think that this would be a really good opportunity for me to see other students work and also have my work shown to other students who are interested in film, another thing I like about this festival is that it allows any running time for student films, so I don’t have to make sure that my film is a certain length to fit into a category. Unfortunately I will not meet the deadline for the 2017 festival dates so I will have to submit in 2018, which I am disappointed about because I am hoping to submit m work to this festival.

My social media campaign

This week (W.C.Ā 07/11/16) I have spent a lot of time setting up my social media pages. The first page I started was my Facebook page, I firstly set up my page with my title and profile picture. I used a simple image that I have used on my own personal page so that people recognised the image and new that it was my official page. On my profile picture I made a small caption about what the page was about and how people can get involved. I then made my own poster using a simple background and text, I uploaded this as my cover photo so that people were attracted to my page. After creating a simple effective page I then added a “send message’ button so that as soon as someone clicks on my page they can see straight away where they can communicate with me if they have any questions.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-28-46screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-28-59

Overall at the moment I am happy with how my page looks but when I have taken more pictures/ when I take an official picture for my film I think I will make some changes to my profile picture and cover photo. I am hoping to take a photo next week that I can use as my cover photo.screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-28-18

After I had a simple set up I then went on to develop my page by adding in a short description Ā about the film, the director of the film, what film genre the film fits into and I also linked my Twitter page into the ‘About’ section so that people will be able to access my other social media accounts from each page.

Once I had finished setting up my Facebook page I then shared it on my personal page to make sure that people who have me as a ‘friend’ on Facebook would see my page. I also then invited my Facebook ‘friends’ to my page and started gaining likes from them.
screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-30-33Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 17.05.19.png

Once I had my links to my other social media sites I then made a post about each one, on my Facebook page. I made sure that I put the link in so that it was easy for people to get on to and it was clear what the link was for. Sometimes people think that links are spam or junk so I made sure that it was clear what I was putting on my Facebook page.
screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-29-07screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-29-16

After making my Facebook page I then made a Twitter account. I started off in a similar way by adding the same profile picture and cover photo – I thought that this was a good idea as it kept the layout flowing through each page making it memorable for my audience.Ā I then went on to add a short bio(graphy) to let people know more about the page and my film, I also added in my location so that people know more about where the film is based and where the director (me) is from. Maybe with doing this smaller, local film accounts may help with my crowd funding etc because it is a local short film.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-32-12screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-32-27

Once my page was set up I then went on my personal profile to share my new account get followers on my personal account to follow my film account. After I did this I then posted a link to my Facebook page in a tweet (also in my profile about section.)

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-30-57screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-31-07

I posted an image of my cover photo with the hashtag #PeopleNotVictims, I was hoping to get people to use this to my hashtag trending- this would allow more people to find out about my film and also leave feedback and comments on it too.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-31-33

I will tweet almost everyday to keep people updated with my production and I will make sure to add teasers, trailers and posters to my Twitter account. I will also hashtag #PeopleNotVictims in nearly every tweet I make to raise awareness for my film.

Finally this week I made my Instagram account. I set up my account the same as I did with my Facebook and Twitter account- with the same profile picture and cover photo. I again added a small caption/bio and linked my Facebook page into my profile. I then went on to post my cover photo as an upload, I linked the hashtag that I used on Twitter to the post using #PeopleNotVictims to try and make it trend on InstagramĀ too. I also added other hashtags and trends to create more awareness and to allow more people to see my post.

screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-32-52screen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-33-01

Once I finished all of my social media pages I thenĀ went through each page and made sure that all my pages link together and made sure there was an easy way to navigate around each page. Overall I am very happy with how my social media sites are looking, I will keep my pages up to date with regular updates on my production and allow my audience to get involved with my film.

Screen Shot 2016-11-12 at 17.36.44.pngscreen-shot-2016-11-11-at-23-31-17

UPDATE: INSTAGRAM

UPDATE: FACEBOOK

UPDATE: TWITTER