At the start of the week I looked through my emails and recorded who I had gotten replies from, I has 2 emails from both Ecclesfield Primary and Meadowhead School that rejected me on filming in their school, I made sure that I recorded this to keep up to date with my replies:
Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 15.03.56.png
As I was waiting on replies from schools I carried on with my research; I researched about copyright and what I need to be aware of when getting music for my film, I found some websites that provide copyright free music that I can use whenever I need to. This has helped me be more prepared for when I start my edit after filming as will know which sites I can use and which ones have music on which I like and want to use.

I also researched more about documentary and some codes and conventions that are used I did this to get a better idea of what people expect to see in documentaries and what will be expected of my film. I will conduct more of this next week by doing some textual analysis’ and analysing some documentary films. I edited some of my mood board research and conducted more secondary research about the way interviews are shot in documentaries, the backgrounds, colour and lighting used in docs, doing this gave me more knowledge about how to properly set up interview in documentaries and gave me more ideas of how I want mine to look. All of which will be added to throughout my preproduction stage.

I wrote up some of the information I collected from a survey I created, and reflected on how this has helped me find out more about my target audience. I now know exactly what type of person is going to watch my film and the type of reaction I am going to get on my social media once my film is complete.

The last thing I did on Monday was researching what I needed to buy with the money I raised on my crowdfunding website, I have worked out the cost for the rewards that I needed to provide my contributors. I looked at this because I need to send my contributor a DVD of my film and so I need buy the things I need to create this. I now know exactly how much of my money I will need to spend on the rewards I set up, this will help me because it allows me to work out how much of the money I can use on travel etc when filming.

On Tuesday I received an email from a teacher from Firth Park who asked me about my film and invited me to go into the school the following day (Wednesday) and talk more about my ideas and how I want to go about them.

1.png

On Wednesday I went to Firth Park to meet up with the teachers I had contacted, we spoke about my ideas and exactly what I wanted to film. We spoke about what shots I wanted to collect and how many of the students/teachers and pastoral tutors I wanted to talk to. I found this really helpful because they helped me come up with new ideas and it has move the planning stage forward. I now need to wait for the teachers to sort out getting permission and sending out permission films for the students that I want to film. They have given me permission to film straight after the Easter holidays so I can start filming straight after I have finished all of my pre-production. I am really happy about this and I cant wait to start filming. From contacting someone I knew (teacher) I was able to get my filming planned and organised pretty much straight away and so it has taught me that having contacts is really important especially in the media industry.

At the end of the week I added more to my research (all that is mentioned above) and contacted Firth Park to let them know of the dates I can shoot. Next week I am hoping to get a lot more of my research finished/nearly finished and look at what pre-production I will need to do over the Easter holidays to prepare for shooting.